Dutch soccer referee accidentally scores a goal… and counts it

TwitterFacebook

Congratulations to the referee in the Netherlands who scored a goal against the Harkemase Boys football club on Saturday.

During a match between the Harkemase Boys and HSV Hoek in the Netherlands, the Harkemase Boys’ defense were scrambling to stop the Hoek offense from scoring inside the penalty box. One of the defenders tried to clear the ball away from the goal but kicked it right at the referee and the ball bounced back into the goal.

After a second, the referee signaled that the goal counted much to the dismay of Harkemase players.

Unfortunately for the Harkemase Boys, the referee made the correct call. FIFA considers referees to be part of the field of play, so balls that touch them are still in play. Read more…

More about Soccer, Culture, and Sports

Report Story

Leave Your Comment